The thirty-two 2014 World Cup finalists

21/11/2013 - 10:44
All eight former world champions have secured a place. Bosnia-Herzegovina will be the only team making its World Cup debut. Final group draw will be held on 6 December

The 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil map has been drawn.  After two years and 820 qualifying fixtures in six continents, thirty-two teams have secured their place for Brazil. The first to have qualified was Japan, booking their place in June 2013, while the Uruguayans were the last, securing their spot this Wednesday (20.11).

Now, all eyes will be on the final group draw, scheduled for the 6 December at Costa do Sauípe (state of Bahia, Brazil's northeast region). In addition to Brazil, Spain, Germany, Argentina, Uruguay, Colombia, Switzerland and Belgium will be the seeded teams. The seeding was decided based on the FIFA rankings published in October.  Detailed procedures of the draw will be published by FIFA on 3 December.

Out of the national squads heading for Brazil, twenty-four were in South Africa in 2010. In fact, Bosnia-Herzegovina - country that used to be part of the former Yugoslavia - will be the only team making their World Cup debut in 2014.

In addition, all of the eight former world champions have secured their place in the next year's edition of the tournament: Brazil (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002); Italy (1934, 1938, 1982 and 2006); Germany (1954, 1974 and 1990); Argentina (1978 and 1986); Uruguay (1930 and 1950); England (1966); France (1998); and Spain (2010).

Some teams will be missed, such as Ibrahimovic’s Sweden and Paraguay,  country that had qualified for every World Cup since 1998. However, squads like Belgium, Croatia and Russia make a comeback to the tournament.

There are six national squads from South America (Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Colombia, Chile and Ecuador), four from North America, Central America and the Caribbean (United States, Mexico, Honduras and Costa Rica), four from Asia (Iran, Australia, South Korea and Japan), five from Africa (Algeria, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Nigeria and Cameroon), as well as thirteen from Europe (Germany, Italy, Switzerland, Belgium, the Netherlands, France, Spain, Portugal, England, Croatia, Russia, Greece and Bosnia-Herzegovina).

Heading for 2014

Football federations from the qualified countries have already started to visit and choose their Team Base Camps (TBCs) for the preparation stage of the tournament. FIFA published the final version of the brochure with 83 options and countries have until 18 December to point out where they would like to stay. By 30 January they have to decide where their Team Base Camps will be in Brazil. Read the full brochure.

The squads need to arrive in Brazil at the most five days before their first match in the tournament. The World Cup starts on 12 June in São Paulo with Brazil taking to the pitch. The final will be held at the Maracãnã in Rio de Janeiro on 13 June. 

World Cup Portal

Related News

Airports, public security and tourist sites reached more than 80% approval rate among media professionals
Data published by the Ministry of Health show that 97.3% of cases that occurred at the grounds were solved on site
Assessment shows that during the World Cup period airports had an average of five landings or take-offs per minute
Infrastructure enabled 166 terabytes of information to be transmitted. The areas of energy and urban mobility were also assessed positively