Amazon and Iguassu Falls among the New 7 Wonders of Nature

16/11/2011 - 17:52
The Amazon and the Iguassu Falls were voted by the public among the world's new seven wonders of nature, according to a poll promoted by the New7Wonders organization. Approximately 1 billion votes were cast.

Located on the border between Brazil and Argentina, the waterfalls of the Iguassu River are a symbol of natural beauty and environmental conservation.

The falls on the Brazilian side lie in the Iguassu National Park, one of the largest protected forests in Southern Brazil. The waterfalls are close to the Itaipu Hydro Power Plant, on the border between Brazil and Paraguay, which generates clean and renewable energy for millions of Brazilians and Paraguayans. The Iguassu ("big water" in the Guarany language) originates near the city of Curitiba, capital of the State of Paraná and a world reference in urban planning and environmental concern.

The Amazon region extends across some 60% of the Brazilian territory and represents approximately 30% of the world's remaining tropical forest areas, in addition to housing nearly 30% of all known fauna and flora species on the planet. This biome covers an area of 7 million sq km distributed across nine countries: Brazil, France (French Guyana), Suriname, Guyana, Venezuela, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, and Bolivia. However, a full 60% of the total.

Amazon Forest area in South America is within the territorial boundaries of Brazil.

Source: Portal Brasil

Related News

Survey conducted by the Ministry of Tourism shows that hospitality and cuisine were the items that scored the highest points
Survey polled a thousand people between 12-25 June, including foreign and domestic visitors
Tours, traffic and a roadmap to get to the stadium
Survey commissioned by the state government found that 98.3% of foreign visitors would recommend the city as a destination to relatives and friends